Opticians Group Names 5 New Board Members


They’ll be sworn in Sept. 17.

Five new members are joining the board of the Society to Advance Opticianry as of Sept. 17, when they’ll be sworn in. Among them is Barry Santini, who will be president of the organization through a two-year term. Aaron Wilson and Amy Endo, both master opticians, will serve three-year terms as directors. April Frey will be secretary for the group, with her term also lasting three years. Serving a one-year term in the role of candidate representative will be Joe Sollecito. They’ll begin their terms after this year’s Society to Advance Opticianry annual meeting in Las Vegas at Vision Expo West. The Society to Advance Opticianry is a professional society that, according to its website, “promotes higher education and certification levels for Opticians” and also focuses on mentoring. Earlier this year, the organization honored Santini as “2016 Ophthalmic Optician of the Year.”