Connect with us

Press Releases

2019 American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowship Recipients Announced

The fellowships will allow students to attend Academy 2019 Orlando and 3rd World Congress of Optometry.




(PRESS RELEASE) ORLANDO, FL – The American Academy of Optometry congratulates the recipients of the 2019 Student Travel Fellowship Awards. These travel fellowships will allow students to attend Academy 2019 Orlando and 3rd World Congress of Optometry, Oct. 23-27, 2019. Resident Travel Fellowship recipients will be announced at a later time.

The 2019 Student Travel Fellowship recipients are:

  • Frank W. Weymouth Student Travel Fellowship
    Rebecca Deffler, OD, MS, The Ohio State University
    Augustine Nti, OD, University of Houston
  • Irvin M. Borish Student Travel Fellowship
    Nahida Akter, University of New South Wales
    Abdulla Alamri, State University of New York
  • Brazelton Low Vision Student Travel Fellowship
    Wai Fung, University of California Berkeley
  • Edward I. Goodlaw Student Travel Fellowship
    Joanna Toner, University of California Berkeley
  • Robert D. Newcomb Student Travel Fellowship Award for Leadership
    Alison Jensen, University of California Berkeley
  • Michael G. Harris Student Travel Fellowship Award for Leadership
    Bibin Cherian, Northeastern State University of Oklahoma
  • American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowships
    Deborah Awisi-Gyua, Indiana University
    Lacey Haines, University of Waterloo
    Neeraj Singh, Indiana University
    Sandra Wagner, Eberhard Karls University
    Tiong Peng Yap, OD, University of New South Wales

Funded by an educational grant from Johnson and Johnson Vision

  • Nicole Adam, New England College of Optometry
  • Michelle Antonucci, University of California Berkeley
  • Akosua Asare, OD, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
  • Khob Bhandari, University of Houston
  • Jaime Etterling, The Ohio State University
  • Raymond Farmer, State University of New York
  • Hannah Gregory, University of Houston
  • Brian Helmetag, Midwestern University Chicago College of Optometry
  • Chuan Hu, OD, University of Houston
  • Parthasarathi Kalaiselvan, University of New South Wales
  • WeiHau Law, University of Houston
  • Taylor Norris, The Ohio State University
  • Sudan Puri, University of Houston
  • Casey Ramirez Cortes, The Ohio State University
  • Noor Haziq Saliman, The University of Manchester
  • Divya Senthilkumar, SRM Institute of Science and Technology
  • Jennyffer Smith, OD, University of Houston
  • Emma Stewart-Bates, The Ohio State University
  • Kelsey Trast, University of Houston
  • Kent Uehara, State University of New York
  • Yen-Chiao Wang, MD, Indiana University

Recipients will be honored at the Student and Resident Awards Lunch on Thursday, Oct. 24, from noon to 1 p.m. in Valencia W415 CD in the Orange County Convention Center.


Meet the Next Generation of Smart Glasses

Ray-Ban Meta is now available with a full range of lenses, as a complete pair or edged lens. Prescription orders eligible through select insurance providers, including Eyemed and private pay. The Ray-Ban Meta collection combines iconic design with cutting-edge technology. Capture life’s best moments and livestream to Facebook and Instagram with an upgraded 12 MP camera and five-mic system. Stay connected with hands-free calls and messages. Listen to your favorite tracks through built-in speakers. Spark your creativity, get information and control your glasses with your voice – powered by Meta AI. All while keeping your phone in your pocket. For more information, visit here.

Promoted Headlines






Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.


Most Popular