Connect with us

Press Releases

AAO Foundation Announces 2019 Johnson & Johnson Vision J. Pat Cummings Scholarships

This award is bestowed annually to a second- or third-year optometry student.




(PRESS RELEASE) ORLANDO, FL – The American Academy of Optometry Foundation in collaboration with Johnson & Johnson Vision announces the 2019 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients. This award is bestowed annually to a second or third year optometry student who best demonstrates the ideal eye care standards of practice, achievement in both academic performance and extra-curricular activities, and participation with other professional pursuits such as involvement with patients through internships, community service, and other volunteer activities.

The 2019 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship Recipients are:

  • Connor Robbs
    Illinois College of Optometry
  • Mattie Monroe
    Indiana University School of Optometry
  • Joel Muñoz
    Inter American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry
  • Vincent Thoren
    Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University School of Optometry
  • Kaitlyn Arnold
    Michigan College of Optometry
  • Eric Yoshinaga
    Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry
  • Katie Li
    New England College of Optometry
  • Trenton Kellog
    Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry
  • Joshua Black
    Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry
  • Nicholas Grant
    Pacific University College of Optometry
  • Laura Gutsin
    Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University
  • Rachel Warner
    Rosenberg School of Optometry
  • Courtney Park
    Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University
  • Lauren Watson
    Southern College of Optometry
  • Kevin Singh
    State University of New York College of Optometry
  • Lindsey Hutchinson
    The Ohio State University College of Optometry
  • Dana Shannon
    University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry
  • Jacqueline Nguyen
    University of California Berkeley School of Optometry
  • Selena Aloisio
    University of Houston College of Optometry
  • Meagan Anderson
    University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry
  • Anabel Cormier
    University of Montreal School of Optometry
  • Breck Dakin
    University of Pikeville Kentucky School of Optometry
  • Song Kim
    University of Waterloo School of Optometry & Vision Science
  • Aruj Ali
    Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry



The Best Overall Progressive Lens, Now Powered by AI

Engineered with Behavioral Artificial Intelligence and utilizing new XR-motion™ technology, Varilux XR series goes beyond prescription and eye physiology to consider the patient’s visual behavior and design a progressive lens that respects how
their eyes naturally move.

Varilux XR series comes in two versions, Varilux® XR design and Varilux® XR track. The Varilux XR track lens provides an additional level of personalization by incorporating the exclusive Near Vision Behavior Measurement, providing up to 25% more near vision width3 according to the patient’s need, so patients get the highest level of customization.

Discover Varilux XR series and enjoy instantly sharp vision in motion4 and seamless transitions from near to far.

For more information, visit here.

Promoted Headlines





Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.



Most Popular