Connect with us

Press Releases

AAOF Announces the 2021 Johnson & Johnson Vision J. Pat Cummings Scholarships

25 optometry students were awarded.




(PRESS RELEASE) ORLANDO, FL — The American Academy of Optometry Foundation, in collaboration with Johnson & Johnson Vision, announce the 2021 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients. This award is bestowed annually to a second- or third-year optometry student who best demonstrates the ideal eye care standards of practice, achievement in both academic performance and extra-curricular activities, and participation with other professional pursuits such as involvement with patients through internships, community service, and other volunteer activities.

The 2021 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients are:

  • Michael Q. Tran
    Chicago College of Optometry at Midwestern University
  • Lydie Tubene
    Illinois College of Optometry
  • Chad Herschberger
    Indiana University School of Optometry
  • Michael Oyefesobi
    Inter American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry
  • Menatolla Soliman
    Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University School of Optometry
  • Jason Spaude
    Michigan College of Optometry
  • Sydney M. Gross
    Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry
  • Sara Masood
    New England College of Optometry
  • Heather Polson
    Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry
  • Amanda Hernandez
    Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry
  • Kalli Marie Sachiko Hirasa
    Pacific University College of Optometry
  • Palma-Rosita Colalancia
    Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University
  • Irene Hwang
    Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University
  • Michelle Yan
    Southern College of Optometry
  • Andrew C. Rouse
    State University of New York College of Optometry
  • Curt Fritts-Davis
    The Ohio State University College of Optometry
  • Darian Travis
    University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry
  • Ashley Han
    University of California Berkeley School of Optometry
  • Angelica Echiverri
    University of Houston College of Optometry
  • Savannah Ferron
    University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry
  • Joshua Dudek
    University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry
  • Marina Nguyen
    University of Montreal School of Optometry
  • Morgan Elizabeth Peters
    University of Pikeville Kentucky School of Optometry
  • Chantelle Procunier
    University of Waterloo School of Optometry & Vision Science
  • Sheila Javadi
    Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry

We are thankful for the professional relationship between the Foundation and Johnson & Johnson Vision. Their support for this program continues to uphold the high caliber of optometric education.


Shamir Glacier Plus Metaform: Stronger. Thinner. Lighter.

It’s time for a new compromise-free lens technology that completely changes our concept of what's possible. Glacier Plus™ Metaform enables customers to enjoy strength and safety alongside the aesthetics of thin and light lenses. Now Available: The next technical revolution in the world of optics.

Promoted Headlines






Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.


Most Popular