Connect with us

Press Releases

American Academy of Optometry Announces 2020 Award Recipients

The Prentice and Fry Lectures will be broadcast live on Oct. 8.




(PRESS RELEASE) ORLANDO, FL – Each year the American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made countless important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.

“In our virtual world it is more important than ever to honor our exceptional colleagues and celebrate their successes. They give us hope and help shine a light on our entire profession,” remarked John G. Flanagan, PhD, FCOptom, FAAO, Awards Committee chair.

The Academy is pleased to announce the 2020 award recipients:

  • Karla Zadnik, OD, PhD, FAAO
    Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award
  • Donald T. Miller, PhD
    Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture
    (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)
  • Abraham Bromberg, OD, MS, FAAO
    AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding
    International Contributions to Optometry
  • Roanne E. Flom, OD, FAAO
    William Feinbloom Award
  • Greg Pearl, OD
    Brien Holden Humanitarian Award
  • Zhichao Wu, BAppSc(Optom), PhD
    Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award
  • Raymond A. Applegate, OD, PhD, FAAO
    Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award
  • Sarah Wilting
    Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics
    (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)
  • Gay Tokumaru, OD, FAAO
    Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award
  • Jun-Kang Si, MD; Kai Tang, MD; Hong-Sheng Bi, MD; Da-Dong Guo, PhD;
    Jun-Guo Guo, MD; Xing-Rong Wang, MD
    Garland W. Clay Award
  • Clifford W. Brooks, Jr., OD, FAAO
    Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education
    (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)
  • Brett G. Bence, OD, FAAO
    Eminent Service Award
  • Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies
  • Jeffrey J. Walline, OD, PhD, FAAO
    Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award
  • Michael G. Harris, OD, JD, FAAO
    Founders’ Award
  • Awards of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section
  • Gregory W. Good, OD, PhD, FAAO
    Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision
    (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

The Prentice and Fry Lectures will be broadcast live on Thursday, Oct, 8, from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. EST. Due to this year’s virtual meeting, the awards will be physically presented to awardees next year at Academy 2021 Boston.

The Section Awards ceremonies will be broadcast pre-recorded this year during Academy 2020 At Home. More information for these two ceremonies will be forthcoming.




Introducing CrizalⓇ Rock™

Did you know three out of four people wipe their lenses on their clothes?* Or that one out of three people accidentally drop their glasses at least once a week?* It's no surprise, then, that 93 percent of wearers consider scratch-resistance an important characteristic when choosing lenses.* To prove the durability of new Crizal Rock lenses, we ran tests inspired by real life situations. To learn more about new Crizal Rock, the most scratch-resistant Crizal No-Glare lenses ever made, visit *Study conducted by ⒸIpsos – Risky behaviors of eyeglass wearers - consumer quantitative research 2019 - declarative results - USA - n= 2345 eyeglass wearers

Promoted Headlines

Most Popular