Connect with us

Press Releases

American Academy of Optometry Announces 2021 Award Recipients

The award ceremony is set for Nov. 4 in Boston.




(PRESS RELEASE) ORLANDO — Each year the American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made countless important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.

“The Academy’s awardees are nominated by Fellows with respect and affection, then considered by the Awards Committee with great care and diligence. In Boston, we once again have the opportunity to honor the astonishing lives and achievements of our awardees, in person,” said John G. Flanagan, PhD, FCOptom, FAAO, Awards Committee Chair.

The Academy announces the 2021 award recipients:

  • Stephen A. Burns, PhD, FAAO
    Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award
  • Konrad Pesudovs, OD, PhD, FAAO
    Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture
    (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)
  • Bina J. Patel, OD, FAAO
    AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding
    International Contributions to Optometry
  • Gang Luo, PhD
    William Feinbloom Award
  • Robert E. Molter, Jr., OD, FAAO, and Kimberly S. Molter, OD
    Brien Holden Humanitarian Award
  • Tawna L. Roberts, OD, PhD, FAAO
    Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award
  • Raymond Kraker, MSPH
    Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award
  • Hannah R. Gregory, OD, MS
    Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics
    (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)
  • Paul Chamberlain, BSc (Hons), Sofia C. Peixoto-De-Matos, MSc, Nicola S. Logan, PhD, Cheryl Ngo, MBBS, MMed, Deborah Jones, BSc, FAAO, Graeme Young, PhD, FAAO
    Garland W. Clay Award
  • Etty Bitton, OD, MSc, FAAO
    Anne Mika Moy, OD, FAAO
    Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education
    (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

  • Carolyn G. Begley, OD, MS, FAAO
    Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award
  • Joseph T. Barr, OD, MS, FAAO
    Founders’ Award

Awards of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section

  • W. Howard McAlister, OD, MPH, FAAO
    Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision
    (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

The Award Ceremony is by invitation only on Thursday, November 4 at 7:00 pm during Academy 2021 Boston. Presented separately, the Charles F. Prentice and Glenn A. Fry Lectures are Friday, November 5 from 1:30 pm – 2:30 pm in Room 254 ABC of the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center (BCEC).


The Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies Awards will be presented during the Section Awards Ceremony and Max Schapero Lecture on Wednesday, November 3 at 5:00 pm in Room 153 ABC of the BCEC.

The Public Health and Environmental Vision Section will hold their Section Awards Ceremony and Henry B. Peters Lecture on Thursday, November 4 at 6:00 pm.



Introducing Crizal® Rock™

Did you know three out of four people wipe their lenses on their clothes?* Or that one out of three people accidentally drop their glasses at least once a week?* It's no surprise, then, that 93 percent of wearers consider scratch-resistance an important characteristic when choosing lenses.* To prove the durability of new Crizal Rock lenses, we ran tests inspired by real life situations. To learn more about new Crizal Rock, the most scratch-resistant Crizal No-Glare lenses ever made, visit *Study conducted by ⒸIpsos - Risky behaviors of eyeglass wearers - consumer quantitative research 2019 - declarative results - USA - n= 2345 eyeglass wearers

Promoted Headlines






Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.


Most Popular