Connect with us

Press Releases

Maureen Cavanagh Named New President of Optical Women’s Association





Maureen Cavanagh Named New President of Optical Women’s Association
Maureen Cavanagh

(Press Release)
DALLAS, TX – The Optical Women’s Association (OWA) board of directors has announced an immediate change to its executive committee. After serving the OWA board for four years, Heather Smith has accepted a role outside the optical industry and, as a result, has resigned her position as OWA president. Effective immediately, the board has unanimously voted Maureen Cavanagh as OWA president, succeeding Smith.

“The OWA is deeply grateful for Heather’s contributions to the growth and development of the association. We wish her every success in her new journey,” says Christie Walker, OWA immediate past president. “Equally, we are thrilled to welcome Maureen to the role of president and anticipate continued successes through her leadership.”

Cavanagh has assumed the role of president for the remaining term of 15 months. A member of the association for many years and the 2015 Pleiades Award winner, Cavanagh brings numerous years of OWA and industry service experience to her new role. She has served the OWA in varying capacities, including Professional Development Fund co-chair and director of the board.

Cavanagh has been in the optical industry for more than 24 years and currently serves as president of the Vision Impact Institute, a global non-profit organization focused on raising awareness about the importance of healthy vision, including the socio-economic impact of uncorrected refractive errors (URE) and quality-of-life benefits of visual correction. She is also the current executive sponsor of the Essilor Women’s Network.

“The OWA boasts a long history of strong female leadership, and I am both honored and humbled to have been selected to serve as president of this amazing association,” says Cavanagh. “Enhancing the leadership of women throughout the optical industry is not only good for their personal growth, but it is a significant benefit to those companies that support the OWA’s efforts to embrace and encourage diversity.”


The OWA executive committee members are Tiara Claxton, vice president, Jean Sabre, secretary/treasurer, and Christie Walker, immediate past president. The current OWA board of directors includes: Katherine Allen, Robyn Crimmins, Jennifer Jackson, Janet Johnson, Lorie Lippiatt, OD, and Deborah Myres. Each of these women was chosen for career achievements and commitment to the OWA’s goals of connecting, inspiring and leading women in the optical industry.



The Best Overall Progressive Lens, Now Powered by AI

Engineered with Behavioral Artificial Intelligence and utilizing new XR-motion™ technology, Varilux XR series goes beyond prescription and eye physiology to consider the patient’s visual behavior and design a progressive lens that respects how
their eyes naturally move.

Varilux XR series comes in two versions, Varilux® XR design and Varilux® XR track. The Varilux XR track lens provides an additional level of personalization by incorporating the exclusive Near Vision Behavior Measurement, providing up to 25% more near vision width3 according to the patient’s need, so patients get the highest level of customization.

Discover Varilux XR series and enjoy instantly sharp vision in motion4 and seamless transitions from near to far.

For more information, visit here.

Promoted Headlines





Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.



Most Popular