Connect with us

Press Releases

Optical Lab Division Announces Directors’ Choice Award Recipient and 2015 Hall of Fame Inductees




(Press Release) The Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council has announced who will be recognized during the Directors’ Choice Award and 16th Annual Optical Lab Division Hall of Fame banquet on Wednesday, September 16 in conjunction with the Optical Lab Division Meeting and International Vision Expo West.

The Division has named Thomas F. Puckett, Founder, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of HPC Puckett & Company, as the 2015 recipient of the Directors’ Choice Award.

Established in 1987 under the Optical Laboratories Association, now the Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council, this award honors individuals and companies that have made outstanding contributions to the ophthalmic industry. Now in its twenty-ninth year, the award is still recognized as one of the most prestigious honors in the industry.

“Tom has been selected to receive this award because of his passion for the optical industry,” said Drake McLean, Optical Lab Division Chair. “He has not only advised and represented hundreds of optical company owners as they navigate a rapidly changing industry, Tom has also given back to the industry by the inception of the Optical Lab Division Hall of Fame”.

Puckett will be recognized alongside this year’s Optical Lab Division Hall of Fame inductees.

“The Optical Lab Division Hall of Fame continues to celebrate the rich heritage of the optical lab industry and the individuals who have contributed to its success,” said Mike Daley, CEO of The Vision Council. “It is my pleasure to announce the names of the individuals who have had a direct hand in helping to move our industry forward.”


2015 Optical Lab Division Hall of Fame Inductees

Jim Grootegoed, Optical Lab Products

Jim Ryan, Lens Technology, Inc. (retired)

Gunter Schneider, Schneider Optical Machines

Rick Tinson, Hoya Vision

Daryl Meister (posthumously)


Nominations for candidates for the Hall of Fame are submitted by members of The Vision Council. The selection of the individuals for the Optical Lab Division Hall of Fame is made by an anonymous committee of industry veterans.

Consideration is given for contributions to the optical laboratory industry, Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council, the candidate’s individual accomplishments, personal character, reputation, and length of time active in the industry.

All members of the vision community are invited to attend the banquet, recognizing those who have contributed to the establishment of the wholesale optical industry. Tickets are free to members of The Vision Council, with RSVP.

To learn more about the Optical Lab Division meeting and the Hall of Fame, or to reserve tickets for the banquet, visit



Sponsored by Shamir

Customer Focused, Service Oriented, Forward Thinking

Shamir is the recognized world leader in custom-designed technology for life improvement, fashion, performance sports, occupational single vision, and progressive lenses. Our values, the driving force behind our ideas and actions, keep the ECP in the center. Every Shamir representative is personally committed to our customers’ vision, and to providing the best service and support to meet and exceed their expectations, all with a personal touch.

Click here for more information.

Promoted Headlines





Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.


Most Popular