Connect with us

Press Releases

Optometry Cares-AOA Foundation Announces Scholarship Winners





Optometry Cares-The AOA Foundation has announced the winners of the following scholarships for 2015:

InfantSEE Scholarship Grant

Sarah Kuipers of Indiana University School of Optometry was honored with first place ($5,000) and Kyle Stott of Southern College of Optometry is runner-up and was awarded second place ($2,500). 

Sponsored by Vision West, Inc., the InfantSEE Scholarship Grant requires third-year optometry students to write an essay describing their commitment to children’s vision. They must also desire to participate in the InfantSEE program, which provides no-cost comprehensive eye and vision assessment for infants within the first year of life. 

Dr. Seymour Galina Grant


Third-year student Leanne Roach of University of Houston, College of Optometry is the recipient of the Dr. Seymour Galina Grant ($2,500). Applicants are required to write an essay about qualities they have developed through financial planning/work experience during and/or before optometry school that will be the most useful in a professional optometric practice. 

Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Scholarship 

Amy Puerto, a fourth-year student from Southern College of Optometry was honored with the Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Scholarship ($5,000).

In tribute to father and son, both of whom passed away in separate tragic accidents, the Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Memorial Fund was established through Optometry Cares. This opportunity was generously funded by numerous individual donors, as well as a large contribution from Johnson & Johnson Vision Care.

As Dr. Cummings was a dedicated philanthropist in his profession, the scholarship requires recipients to write an essay about their goals in the area of public health and leadership roles in optometry.

Bernard Maitenaz Scholarship


Third-year student Laura Chan of New England College of Optometry is the first recipient of the new Bernard Maitenaz Scholarship ($10,000), which was created and introduced in 2014. 

Sponsored by Essilor, this scholarship honors Bernard Maitenaz, inventor of the Varilux lens and one of the foremost authorities in optical science and engineering. Applicants for the scholarship must demonstrate leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, and work experience, among other requirements.


To learn more about endowment and scholarships offered through Optometry Cares or to make a donation to support these scholarships, visit



The Best Overall Progressive Lens, Now Powered by AI

Engineered with Behavioral Artificial Intelligence and utilizing new XR-motion™ technology, Varilux XR series goes beyond prescription and eye physiology to consider the patient’s visual behavior and design a progressive lens that respects how
their eyes naturally move.

Varilux XR series comes in two versions, Varilux® XR design and Varilux® XR track. The Varilux XR track lens provides an additional level of personalization by incorporating the exclusive Near Vision Behavior Measurement, providing up to 25% more near vision width3 according to the patient’s need, so patients get the highest level of customization.

Discover Varilux XR series and enjoy instantly sharp vision in motion4 and seamless transitions from near to far.

For more information, visit here.

Promoted Headlines





Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.



Most Popular