Connect with us

Press Releases

Prevent Blindness Announces Recipient of 2018 Jenny Pomeroy Award




(PRESS RELEASE) CHICAGO, IL – Prevent Blindness has announced the Johns Hopkins University School-Based Eye Care Team as the recipient of the 2018 Jenny Pomeroy Award for Excellence in Vision and Public Health.

Team members include Megan E. Collins, MD, MPH; David S. Friedman, MD, MPH, PhD; Michael X. Repka, MD, MBA; Robert E. Slavin, PhD; and Nancy A. Madden, PhD. The award will be presented at the 7th Annual Prevent Blindness Focus on Eye Health National Summit in Washington, D.C., on July 18, 2018. 

Prevent Blindness created the Jenny Pomeroy Award for Excellence in Vision and Public Health to recognize an individual, team or organization that has made significant contributions to the advancement of public health related to vision and eye health at the community, state, national and/or international level. The award is named for Jenny Pomeroy, who served as CEO of Prevent Blindness Georgia from 1996 until 2013, and was an advocate for championing the role of public health in vision and eyecare services and programs. 

Members of the Johns Hopkins University School-Based Eye Care Team are part of Wilmer Eye Institute’s Dana Center for Preventive Ophthalmology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Center for Research and Reform in Education at the Johns Hopkins University School of Education. 

The team was selected for the award for their work investigating and addressing vision-related problems in high-poverty schools. This collaborative effort was designed to: 

  • Increase access to pediatric eyecare in high-poverty areas.
  • Develop and refine models for school-based vision programs.
  • Advance research on the long-term impact of vision care on academic performance among students. 

The team’s first project in school-based eyecare was the Baltimore Reading and Eye Disease Study. Based on results from their earlier work, they  are now working in partnership with Baltimore City Health Department,  Baltimore City Schools, Vision To Learn and Warby Parker on “Vision for Baltimore,” a city-wide school-based vision program.


The Johns Hopkins University team has now expanded this work, collaborating with Chicago Public Schools in the new “Vision for Chicago” research program to conduct a longitudinal assessment of the impact of glasses on academic performance, as well as the impact of a school-based professional development program on teacher engagement and student use of eyeglasses. With these projects, the team aims to lay the groundwork for reform of public school practices and national education policy regarding vision care, and potentially form alliances between educators and eyecare professionals.

“The ultimate goal of our project is to ensure that all children in need of eye care and glasses receive them. By partnering with schools and educators, and providing the necessary tools, we believe we can achieve this,” said Collins. “We thank Prevent Blindness for recognizing our team with this award and we are encouraged to continue this important work to improve the vision health of children across the country.”

Past recipients of the Jenny Pomeroy Award for Excellence in Vision and Public Health include John E. Crews, DPA, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and Bruce Moore, OD, Marcus Professor of Pediatric Studies, New England College of Optometry. 

“In 1908, Prevent Blindness was founded as an organization to prevent unnecessary vision loss in children. We are proud to continue that work today, and we want to recognize the outstanding efforts of others that have the same mission,” said Hugh R. Parry, president and CEO of Prevent Blindness. “We congratulate the Johns Hopkins University team and hope their findings may be expanded to help children everywhere.”

For more information on the Jenny Pomeroy Award for Excellence in Vision and Public Health, call Prevent Blindness at (800) 331-2020 or visit

Prevent Blindness Announces Recipient of  2018 Jenny Pomeroy Award
Wilmer Team (from left) Michael Repka, MD; Rani Mukherjee;
Megan Collins, MD, MPH; Alyssa Kretz; Xinxing Guo, MD, PhD;
David Friedman, MD, PhD, MPH


SOE group (from left) Megan Collins, MD, MPH; Rani Mukherjee;
Alyssa Kretz; Amanda Inns, MEd; Nancy Madden, PhD;
Robert Slavin, PhD; Grace Galiani; Anne Currie; Christine Levy


Turn Patients Into Loyal Eyewear Shoppers

80% of patients are browsing eyewear online, are you influencing patients online before your competition? Join thousands of practices thriving with Optify, voted the #1 optical sales tool by EyeVote. Empower your opticians to save time, increase optical revenue, and maximize your EHR data and website with a seamless optical plug-in that keeps patients buying from YOU! Now through August 31st receive a $25 UberEats® gift card when you complete a 15 min demo. Book your demo here..

Promoted Headlines





Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.



Most Popular

Link partner: indobet autowin88 vegasslot77 mantra88 ligasedayu warungtoto login sbobet vegas4d indobet ingatbola88 ligaplay dewagg hoki368 qqnusa ligagg zeus138 bro138 bos88 ligaciputra