Connect with us

Press Releases

AOSA Optometry Student Bowl Celebrates 29th Annual Competition

Connor Christensen from The University of Houston College of Optometry took top honors in front of more than 1,500 virtual viewers.




AOSA Student Bowl Behind The Scenes

(PRESS RELEASE) DALLAS – The AOSA Optometry Student Bowl powered by Essilor has long been an anticipated highlight of Optometry’s Meeting. Due to COVID-19 and the cancellation of a live Optometry’s Meeting, the event was held virtually for the first time. Essilor of America, ophthalmic lens manufacturer, pulled out all the stops to celebrate the 29th annual competition. The event was broadcast on June 25 from the Essilor headquarters in Dallas with more than 1,500 attendees tuned in to watch the contestants, students from all 25 schools and colleges of optometry, answer optometry-related questions.

“Essilor is committed to creating value for students and investing in the future of our industry. We are honored to host the Optometry Student Bowl again this year,” says Dr. Ryan Parker, director of Professional Education at Essilor of America, “The engagement of the viewers and contestants in this first-ever virtual OSB was impressive. We always appreciate seeing the creativity, innovation, and team spirit fostered through this fun and competitive setting.”

In addition to bragging rights, the winning school, The University of Houston College of Optometry, took home $1,000, a host of diagnostic lenses from Volk, and will house the coveted Ventura Cup until next year’s meeting in Anaheim, CA. Second-place winner, Alec Waters, Southern College of Optometry, received $750 and third-place winner, Katelyn Flood, University of Missouri St. Louis College of Optometry, received $500. As in previous years, each OSB contestant will get a Volk Pan Retinal 2.2 blue-ringed lens, generously donated by Volk Optical. Keeler also provided each contestant with a generous PPE kit.

Additional Awards

  • The Zoom Background Award went to The New England College of Optometry, who will help create next year’s “hype video” which helps kick off the competition with energy.
  • The social media-based Virtual Spirit Award was given to The Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences School of Optometry for their inventive social media posts cheering on their contestant.

This year’s prestigious panel of judges included:

  • Lead Judge – Dr. Linda Casser, professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University; author, educator, clinician, and 1997 American Optometric Association (AOA) Optometrist of the Year.
  • Dr. Diane Adamczyk, author, lecturer, and professor at State University of New York College of Optometry and 2016 PCO Alumna of the Year.
  • Dr. Bob Layman, President-Elect of the American Optometric Association, The Ohio State University College of Optometry graduate, past President of the Ohio Optometric Association, the 2006 AOA Optometrist of the Year.
  • Dr. Sue Oleszewski is a Pennslyvania College of Optometry graduate and a retired Professor Emerita from Salus University, a clinical educator and administrator.

For more information and to see some of the excitement from this year’s AOSA Optometry Student Bowl powered by Essilor, click here or go to the Essilor Pro Facebook page.




Transform Your Multi-office Phone System Into a Revenue-generation Tool

Weave’s multi-office, multi-department, and multi-provider phone system is built to flexibly accommodate and augment your practices’ most powerful revenue-generation tool: ring phones across multiple locations, set up inter-office call overflow, support external call centers, and more. And by connecting to your patient data, call handlers see a patient’s upcoming appointments, overdue balances, overdue family members, and preferred location – all when they pick up the phone." Learn more at

Promoted Headlines






Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.


Most Popular