Connect with us

Press Releases

The Vision Council, National Optometric Association Announce Recipients of 2015 Opportunity Scholarship




(Press Release)
The Vision Council has announced the recipients of the inaugural Opportunity Scholarship program, in partnership with the National Optometric Association.

The program was launched in March of this year in an effort to promote the education of optometric students and further the advancement of the optometric industry at large.

The Vision Council awards a $1,000 scholarship to one OD candidate at each school of optometry with an active National Optometric Student Association (NOSA) Chapter. Applicants were also automatically entered to win one of twenty-three $500 travel grants to International Vision Expo.

The recipients of the 2015 Opportunity Scholarship are:

  • Feyisayo Aworunse (SCO)
  • Millie Davis (UHCO)
  • Van Do (RSO)
  • Gil Guedes (OSU)
  • Stefanie Hwang (PCO)
  • Janis James (PR)
  • Mandip Kaur (SUNY)
  • Amy Keding (ICO)
  • Eric Larios (Berkeley)
  • Breanne McGhee (PUCO)
  • Kayla Schmidt (UAB)
  • Deleram Shirazian (UMSL)
  • Caleb St. Jean (NOVA)
  • Lidia Tekie (Western)
  • Christina Welling (IU)

The Vision Council, which hosts thousands of optometric professionals and paraprofessionals each year at International Vision Expos East and West, works to promote in the eye care industry as the global voice for vision care products and services.

Today, as a founding member of the Think About Your Eyes coalition, The Vision Council is proactively working to provide for a healthy optical profession and industry by encouraging consumers to have a comprehensive eye exam.


“As the future of the industry, it is crucial that we encourage the education of Optometric students, and ensure that they have the access to the resources they need to succeed,” said Mike Daley, CEO of The Vision Council. “In support of our mission to promote the growth of the industry, The Vision Council realizes the need to promote this next generation of ODs, and is proud to partner with the NOA on this important effort.”

Each applicant considered for the 2015 Award is a member of an active NOSA chapter maintaining a 2.5 GPA or higher, a rising 4th year student (e.g. graduating in the class of 2016), expresses an interest in working with underserved populations, demonstrates financial need, and participates in optometric community service.



The Best Overall Progressive Lens, Now Powered by AI

Engineered with Behavioral Artificial Intelligence and utilizing new XR-motion™ technology, Varilux XR series goes beyond prescription and eye physiology to consider the patient’s visual behavior and design a progressive lens that respects how
their eyes naturally move.

Varilux XR series comes in two versions, Varilux® XR design and Varilux® XR track. The Varilux XR track lens provides an additional level of personalization by incorporating the exclusive Near Vision Behavior Measurement, providing up to 25% more near vision width3 according to the patient’s need, so patients get the highest level of customization.

Discover Varilux XR series and enjoy instantly sharp vision in motion4 and seamless transitions from near to far.

For more information, visit here.

Promoted Headlines





Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.



Most Popular