Connect with us

Press Releases

AAOF Announces Recipients of J&J Vision Scholarship




(PRESS RELEASE) ORLANDO, FL – The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) in collaboration with Johnson & Johnson Vision announces the 2017 J. Pat Cummings Scholarship recipients. This award is bestowed annually to a second or third year optometry student who best demonstrates the ideal eye care standards of practice, achievement in both academic performance and extra-curricular activities, and participation with other professional pursuits such as involvement with patients through internships, community service, and other volunteer activities. 

The 2017 Scholarship Recipients are:

  • Jessica Capri – Illinois College of Optometry
  • Derek Phelps – Indiana University School of Optometry
  • Esther Ko – Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University School of Optometry
  • Kathleen Bott – Michigan College of Optometry
  • Hannah Johnson – Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry
  • Jessica Taylor – New England College of Optometry
  • Hayden Nauert – Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry
  • Melissa Zaleski – NOVA Southeastern University College of Optometry
  • Masha Molodyh – Pacific University College of Optometry
  • Kylie Auman – Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University
  • Nirmani Karunathilake – Rosenberg School of Optometry
  • Brandin Gwinner – Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University
  • Blair FlintSouthern – College of Optometry
  • Jana R. Widell – State University of New York College of Optometry
  • Kelly Marie Morgan – The Ohio State University College of Optometry
  • Paul Brown – University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry
  • Allison Mina Choi – University of California Berkeley School of Optometry
  • Rachel Reed – University of Houston College of Optometry
  • Aric J. Waltz – University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry
  • Gabriella Courey – University of Montreal School of Optometry
  • Sherene Vazhappilly – University of Waterloo School of Optometry & Vision Science
  • Lauren Monsanto – Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry

The AAOF is thankful for the professional relationship between the Foundation and Johnson & Johnson Vision. Their exceptional support for this program continues to uphold the high caliber of optometric resident education.



The Best Overall Progressive Lens, Now Powered by AI

Engineered with Behavioral Artificial Intelligence and utilizing new XR-motion™ technology, Varilux XR series goes beyond prescription and eye physiology to consider the patient’s visual behavior and design a progressive lens that respects how
their eyes naturally move.

Varilux XR series comes in two versions, Varilux® XR design and Varilux® XR track. The Varilux XR track lens provides an additional level of personalization by incorporating the exclusive Near Vision Behavior Measurement, providing up to 25% more near vision width3 according to the patient’s need, so patients get the highest level of customization.

Discover Varilux XR series and enjoy instantly sharp vision in motion4 and seamless transitions from near to far.

For more information, visit here.

Promoted Headlines





Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.



Most Popular