Connect with us


American Academy of Optometry Names 2018 Award Recipients




They’ll be honored on Nov. 9.

ORLANDO – Each year the American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made countless important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.

“Every nominee represents exactly what the American Academy of Optometry and the American Academy of Optometry Foundation hope to inspire in all of us. The winners represent the highest level of accomplishment in vision research, vision care, education, and improvement of the visual welfare of all. Many thanks to those who submitted nominations, and to those who served on the awards committee,” said Donald O. Mutti, OD, PhD, FAAO, awards committee chair.

The Academy is pleased to announce the 2018 award recipients:

Chris A. Johnson, PhD, DSc, FAAO


Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

Fiona J. Stapleton, MCOptom, PhD, FAAO

Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture

(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Paul E. Berman, OD, FAAO



AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry

David B. Elliott, PhD, MCOptom, FAAO

William Feinbloom Award

Akio Kanai, OD

Brien Holden Humanitarian Award

Kovin S. Naidoo, OD, PhD, FAAO


Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award

Jacob A. Boroff, OD, MS; Angeline Nguyen, OD; and Jenna L. Wayne, OD

Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics

(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Tammy P. Than, MS, OD, FAAO

Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award

Bernard J. Dolan, OD, MS, FAAO

Eminent Service Award

Gregory L. Goodrich, PhD, FAAO; Heidi M. Flyg, OD; Jennine E. Kirby, OD; Chea-Yo Chang, OD, FAAO; Gary L. Martinsen, OD, PhD, FAAO

Garland W. Clay Award

Patricia K. Hrynchak, OD, FAAO

Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education 

(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

Helen A. Swarbrick, PhD, FAAO

Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

Jerome A. Legerton, OD, MS, FAAO

Founders’ Award

Awards of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section

Robert D. Newcomb, OD, MPH, FAAO

Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision

(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Award winners will be recognized at the Academy 2018 San Antonio Awards Ceremony on Friday, Nov. 9, 8-10 a.m. in Room 217CD of the Henry B. González Convention Center. Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies award recipients will be honored at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 7, in Room 214. The Public Health and Environmental Vision Section Henry B. Peters Awardee will be honored on Thursday, Nov. 8, at 5 p.m. in Room 207.

The American Academy of Optometry’s annual meeting, Academy 2018 San Antonio, will take place Nov. 7-10 at the Henry B. González Convention Center in San Antonio, TX. For more information, visit



The Best Overall Progressive Lens, Now Powered by AI

Engineered with Behavioral Artificial Intelligence and utilizing new XR-motion™ technology, Varilux XR series goes beyond prescription and eye physiology to consider the patient’s visual behavior and design a progressive lens that respects how
their eyes naturally move.

Varilux XR series comes in two versions, Varilux® XR design and Varilux® XR track. The Varilux XR track lens provides an additional level of personalization by incorporating the exclusive Near Vision Behavior Measurement, providing up to 25% more near vision width3 according to the patient’s need, so patients get the highest level of customization.

Discover Varilux XR series and enjoy instantly sharp vision in motion4 and seamless transitions from near to far.

For more information, visit here.

Promoted Headlines





Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.



Most Popular