Connect with us

Press Releases

American Academy of Optometry Announces the 2023 Garland W. Clay Award Recipients

The Academy recognizes the outstanding research on ocular component development in childhood by the 2023 Garland W. Clay award recipients.




(PRESS RELEASE) ORLANDO, FL – The American Academy of Optometry is pleased to  announce the recipients of the 2023 Garland W. Clay award: 

Mutti, Donald O. OD, PhD, FAAO; Sinnott, Loraine T. PhD; Lynn Mitchell, G. MAS, FAAO; Jordan, Lisa A. PhD, FAAO; Friedman, Nina E. OD, MS; Frane, Sara L. OD; Lin, Wendy K. OD 

College of Optometry, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio 

School of Optometry, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California 

The Garland Clay award is presented to the authors of the manuscript published in Optometry  and Vision Science (OVS) that has been among the top OVS papers cited in the world research  literature in the preceding five years and has the majority vote of the Optometry and Vision  Science Editorial Board. This award is for their 2018 paper: 

Ocular Component Development during Infancy and Early Childhood 


Optom Vis Sci 2018 Nov;95(11):976-985. 

Click here 

“The Garland Clay award recognizes the most important paper published in Optometry and  Vision Science over the past five years. This year’s award recognizes work by Don Mutti and  colleagues who studied how the components of the eye grow and change throughout childhood,”  stated Michael Twa, OD, PhD, FAAO, on behalf of the OVS Editorial Board. “Their elegant  research studied hundreds of children to establish normative growth curves and developmental  expectations for human vision. This work will have a lasting impact on our understanding of  refractive errors and the mechanisms underlying their progression.” 

“It’s hard to express how grateful the Berkeley Infant Biometry (BIBS) team is to the families  and the babies – who are now old enough to have families of their own – for their contributions  to the research that meant enough to others to be worthy of this recognition. Without their  participation, emmetropization and the growth of the eye are still a mystery,” said Donald Mutti,  OD, PhD, FAAO, Clay award recipient. 

The Garland W. Clay award recipients will be recognized during the Awards Ceremony on  Friday, October 13, at 8:00 am during Academy 2023 New Orleans. The ceremony will be held  in Ballroom C of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. One hour of CE credit can be accrued  during this two-hour event. 



Turn Patients Into Loyal Eyewear Shoppers

80% of patients are browsing eyewear online, are you influencing patients online before your competition? Join thousands of practices thriving with Optify, voted the #1 optical sales tool by EyeVote. Empower your opticians to save time, increase optical revenue, and maximize your EHR data and website with a seamless optical plug-in that keeps patients buying from YOU! Now through August 31st receive a $25 UberEats® gift card when you complete a 15 min demo. Book your demo here..

Promoted Headlines






Get the most important news and business ideas for eyecare professionals every weekday from INVISION.


Most Popular